Essar Chester Half Marathon Sunday 19th May 2019

Enter now

Essar Chester 2019 Half Marathon

Days Hours Minutes Seconds

19 May 2019 09:00

Essar Chester Half Marathon Sunday 19th May 2019

Enter now
  • Lucozade Sport
  • innospec

Results & Race History

The first Chester Half Marathon was run in 1982, organised by the Chester Branch of the Rotary Club - and reported on in this article from the Chester Chronicle. The route started and finished at the Chester Racecourse, via Blacon, Saughall and Sealand.

Results for that race have been lost in the mists of time - if you did the race and have a copy of the results please get in touch and we will add them to our archive.

In 1983 there were 1,753 runners and this strong level of entry was maintained, with entries exceeding 2,500 in 1985 and 1986.

After the 1993 race Rotary handed the race over to Chester and Ellesmere Port Athletic Club (CEPAC), who needed to find a new route to avoid Sunday shoppers visiting the Greyhound Retail Park. The route to the south of the City went out and back through Eccleston, Belgrave and Pulford.

The newly-formed West Cheshire AC took over in 1998. The race continued to be a popular feature of the local race calendar, selling out within days of opening.

In May 2012, Active Leisure Events took on the organisation of the Chester Half Marathon. West Cheshire AC retain strong links to the race, and continue to provide many of the officials and volunteers on race day.

Since 2012 the race has taken place over a new course which starts at the city centre Chester Racecourse and finishes outside the Town Hall and Cathedral, in the heart of the city.

Over four decades and various routes, the race records have been: Men: Vincent Boit 1:02:21 (2015); Women: Amanda Crook 1:14:32 (2013).  


Race Record


Vincent Boit in 2015


Amanda Crook in 2013

2018 Results.

1st Phillip Matthews (Swansea Harriers) 1:07:59
2nd Russell Bentley (Kent AC) 1:09:44
3rd Alex Pilcher (Derby Athletic Club) 1:09:49
1st Hayley Munn (Northampton Road Runners) 1:18:06
2nd Amanda Crook (Southport Waterloo AC) 1:18:13
3rd Kim Fawke (Lawley Running Club) 1:21:53
See all results